Lotus

Basic Mindfulness & Lovingkindness

This course has finished

Four weeks – free online-course

This course is for beginners. Send it to your friends and family who want to start at the ground level with mindfulness/Vipassana and Metta/Loving Kindness, and learn how start and maintain a daily practice. If you are beyond the beginner stage you can still participate, and will still likely benefit.

The daily practice recommendation will be 30 minutes of formal practice.

There will be lots of space for discussion and questions about practice.

Cost: Free.

The class will be recorded and will be available after the course is done.

We’ll meet on Zoom. The class will last for 90 mins.


Course Overview

Week 1 (Feb 16th):
Introduction to Basic Mindfulness
  • See, Hear, Feel (SHF) technique
  • Rewards & benefits of mindfulness
Week 2 (Feb 23rd):
Mindfulness in Daily Life
  • See, Hear, Feel techniques, practice in daily life
Week 3 (Mar 1st):
Loving Kindness Meditation
  • Learn Loving Kindness Meditation
  • Practice strategies to work with pleasant & unpleasant experiences
  • Apply loving kindness and mindfulness to inner opportunities and obstacles
  • Learn to accelerate growth through practice
  • Practice Homework
Week 4 (Mar 8th):
Wrap Up – Your Road Map for further progress on the Path
  • The rhythm of practice: Life, Retreats, Getting Support, Giving Support, Question & Answer

The class will be taught twice to reach people in different time zones. The content is the same.

1) USA Sunday Morning & Europe Sunday Evening Class:
  • In the US:
    • 11:00am Eastern Time Zone
    • 10:00am Central
    • 9:00am Mountain
    • 8:00 am Pacific
  • In Europe:
    • 17:00 (Central European Time (CET) which is UTC/GMT+1)
    • 16:00 (Western European Time (WET) which is UTC/GMT +0.)
2) USA Sunday Evening Class
  • 7:30pm Eastern
  • 6:30pm Central
  • 5:30pm Mountain
  • 4:30pm Pacific.

This course has now finished

 

Photo by Saffu

Hourly Schedule

Schedule Common to each 90 minute class:

11:00 -
5 Minutes of Meditation
-
5 minutes review of prior class (first class will be introductions instead)
-
20 mins practice questions relating to last weeks material (first class would be lecture instead)
-
15 mins lecture of new practice ("See, Hear, Feel" Vipassana, and Metta)
-
5 mins brief clarifications as to the technique
-
20 mins guided meditation for technique just discussed
-
20 mins follow up questions and homework assignment.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

If you would like to contact me, feel free to reach out:

Donations