Mudita – Sympathetic Joy One-Day Online Meditation Retreat with guided Yoga

This is a virtual retreat hosted on zoom. The email with the zoom link will be sent out on Friday afternoon.

The emphasis will be to deepen our experience of joy, delight, Mudita.   Joy, and delight are one of the five aspects of secure attachment conditioning.  So, this retreat’s purpose to facilitate the participant in doing a “body of work” on repairing the fourth aspect of secure attachment conditioning (expressed delight).  We will use Muditat meditation as the means.

Date: Saturday May 30th 2020

Time:

  • USA:
    • EDT: 9:00 am to 7:30 pm
    • CDT: 8am to 6:30 pm
    • MDT: 7am to 5:30 pm
    • PDT: 6am to 4:30 pm
  • London: 2pm to 00:30 am
  • Paris: 3pm to 1:30 am

 

  • Teacher: Cedric Reeves
  • Cost: Free
  • Partial attendance is fine – Come and go as you like!

Practice Technique – Covered in the Morning Lecture

The suggested practice is Mudita – Sympathetic Joy. Practice instructions will be given in the lecture in the first hour.  We’ll also discuss the Paramis/Paramitas and integrate them into out Mudita practice.  You are totally free to practice a different technique if you prefer. Metta would be a good alternative if Mudita doesn’t resonate.

Second Lecture and Guided Meditation

A second lecture will be given on how Mudita meditation can be used to heal our inner psychology to create a firm and secure basis for a flourishing life.  This is based on the work of Dan P. Brown as laid out in the book “Attachment Distrubances in Adults: Treatment for Comprehensive Repair”

Walking Meditation

Brief walking meditation instruction will be offered. Most hours will consist of a 20 minute walking meditation session and a 40 minute seated meditation session. Also self guided yoga can be done in lieu of walking meditation during those 20 minute periods.

Yoga (optional)

I’ll guide an hour long Yoga session. The Yoga routine will be made up of two sequences. The first is based on the “how to grow a lotus” sequence which is specifically designed to help with long meditation sitting. The second sequence is Tibetan Sun Moon Yoga which supports deep meditative experience.

The retreat is suitable for beginners

The heart practices like Mudita are very safe and helpful for practitioners at any level of practice.

Partial Attendance, coming and going, etc

You can come and go whenever you like based on your availability and interest. (The Europeans likely can’t attend the full retreat.) Full participation will yield the most powerful result, however.

Misc.

The schedule is similar to a Zen retreat schedule.

However chanting will be of a traditional Theravada flavor.

We’ll chant the Metta Sutta at the beginning and end of the day. This is the version we’ll chant: https://accesstoinsight.org/tipitaka/kn/snp/snp.1.08.amar.html At the beginning of each sit we’ll chant the homage to the Buddha “Namo Tassa Bhagawato Arahato Sama Sam Buddhassa”. Chanting is very powerful and strongly recommended.  It brings you to immediate presences.

It would be helpful to have a set of Mala Beads, or a Rosary available for the retreat.

Sign-ups are open: https://forms.gle/d9swpaGY426YTq5P8

Hourly Schedule

9:00 -
Opening notes & Chanting
9:20 -
Instructions on Mudita with Q&A
10:20 -
Guided Mudita Meditation
11:00 -
Gentle Guided Yoga
12:00 -
Seated Meditation
12:40 -
Brief instruction on Walking Meditation
1:00 -
Brief lecture on using Mudita to heal attachment conditioning & Guided Mudita Meditation
1:40 -
Walking Meditation
2:00 -
Lunch Break
3:00 -
Walking Meditation
3:20 -
Seated Meditation
4:00 -
Walking Meditation
4:20 -
Seated Meditation
5:00 -
Walking Meditation
5:20 -
Seated Meditation
6:00 -
Walking Meditation or Break for a light dinner
6:30 -
Seated Meditation
7:00 -
Chanting & friendly discussion about practice
7:30 -
Finish

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

If you would like to contact me, feel free to reach out:

Donations